• Christ and Church Life and Building Spirit and Bride

    基督與召會
    生命與建造
    那靈與新婦



    As a lover of Christ and a pursuer of truth, I write down my joys, memories and reflections.

    May God lead us all into the secret of His presence, and build us into the oneness of His body in love.
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recently Viewed

  • Recent Posts

Being over doing

Recently I observed many economical moves in the Lord’s recovery and in some of the local churches. Many are talking about migrating and preaching the gospel, and many are encouraged to take actions. Personally, I also actively involve with many church meetings, services, and activities. However, today I am taking a step back and offer my humble observations and suggestions toward this kind of atmosphere.

First of all, I am by no means against actions or moves. In fact, I would even be the first one to stand up and ask my fellow pursuers to rist up and serve the Lord in a practical way. We should always offer ourselves for the Lord’s uses. However, I need to make the following 3 points:

  1. The Lord cares our being more than our doings, life more than work, and essential Spirit more than economical Spirit. Our natural or religious concept is to please God with our doings by doing the right things, by showing the Lord our goodness by doing things, by moving and acting in an outward way. However, what pleases God is by our being, by how much Christ in us, by how much we love Him. A lot of times, we use our outward doings, even spiritual activities, to occupy our time from personal and direct fellowship with the Lord, we use outward activities to bribe our conscience from facing the Lord Himself. Eventually we become people serving in the temple not in the spirit, people moving and acting yet not knowing the Lord, and people feeling satisfied with their own image and ego. We need to restore the joy of our salvation, and find out first love toward the Lord, and always pray into God. Before our service, we need to turn to Him, find Him, and stay in His presence, and such staying is the only way for us to have genuine transformation and life growth.
  2. Our motives should be pure before God and men. Our motives were not never pure. We either think about our past failure or success, in which our motives are to do better than our failures and to repeat our successes before, or we think about what the reward, recognition, praise, or glory we may get our of our actions. It is not easy to keep a pure heart in service and doing spiritual activities. May times, the pride and self may creep in, not only when we are doing bad, but also when we are doing well. When we shepherd people, we think about what kind of recognition we may get if others see their growth caused by us. Even when are serving, we are not thinking about the thing itself, but the coming reward. What I want to point out is that we need to keep our motive and mind pure, so pure that our only motive to do anything is because our love toward the Lord, so pure that the only thing I think about in doing certain things are themselves, and nothing else.
  3. Economical move are not spiritual standard for others. Men tend to look at outward things, concrete numbers, or tangible results. But a Christian should look away from all things unto Jesus. We judge people by what they do, how useful they are, how capable they are. First of all, there is no greater or smaller function in the body. Every member is equally important. There is no better or worse service, every service is equally important. There is no better or worse saints. Forget about all the comparisons and judgmental concepts. Let the economical movve be a deal between God and man alone. You may ask me how about the coordination in the body of Christ. I will tell you that vertical fellowship always precedes horizontal fellowship. In fact, there can never be any building up, body life, or coordination if there is no vertical relationship. The Spirit is the reality of the Body. We touch the body, be in the body, and be built into the body through the mingling and fellowshipping in the spirit. In short, what I want to say is that we should never view or measure another brother by what his economical value is, but that he is a brother, a Christian, my fellow pursuer, and my beloved brother.
Lord! Grant me the vision to see Your heart desire. Change our being accoring to Your pleasure. Make us the proper vessel for Your uses.
Lord! I love You. I give You my first and best love. Make me living and active to pursue You. Remove all my fleshly and natural concept. Teach me to focus on You and You alone, not even Your reward or Your glory.
