• Christ and Church Life and Building Spirit and Bride

    基督與召會
    生命與建造
    那靈與新婦



    As a lover of Christ and a pursuer of truth, I write down my joys, memories and reflections.

    May God lead us all into the secret of His presence, and build us into the oneness of His body in love.
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recently Viewed

  • Recent Posts

The regenerating spirit and the indwelling Spirit

God has revealed Himself and His work in two dispensations. In the Old He promised and prepared; in the New, He perfects and dispenses. In the Old Testament the Spirit of God came upon men in special times and ways, working from above and without. In the New, the Spirit enters men and dwells within them, working from within.

Here we see this twofold blessing and promise in Ezekiel 36:26-27, “I will also give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you; and I will take away the heart of stone out of your flesh, and I will give you a heart of flesh. And I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and My ordinances you shall keep and do. ” The first promise is the regenerating and quickening work of God’s Spirit upon the spirit of men. The second is the coming and indwelling of God’s Spirit in the new and regenerated spirit, which would become the dwelling and inhabitant place of the most High. God needs to give us a new heart and put a new spirit within us so His Spirit may come and dwell.

The same difference can also be found in David’s prayer in Psalms, “Create in me a clean heart, 0 God! and renew a steadfast  spirit within me,” and then, “do not take the Spirit Your Holiness away from me.” And in John, “that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. The Spirit regenerates and begets our spirits, and our new spirits are begotten by Him.  And in Romans, “The Spirit Himself witnesses with our spirit that we are children of God.” Again and again we see that our spirit is the new and regenerated spirit, in, with, and though which the distinguishable God’s Holy Spirit regenerates, dwells, and witnesses.


Ezekiel 36:26-28
I will also give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you; and I will take away the heart of stone out of your flesh, and I will give you a heart of flesh. And I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and My ordinances you shall keep and do. And you shall dwell in the land which I gave to your fathers; and you will be My people, and I will be your God.

Psalms 51:10-11
Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from Your presence, And do not take the Spirit of Your holiness away from me.


John 3:5-8
Jesus answered, Truly, truly, I say to you, Unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. Do not marvel that I said to you, You must be born anew. The wind blows where it wills, and you hear the sound of it, but you do not know where it comes from and where it goes; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.

John 4:23-24
But an hour is coming, and it is now, when the true worshippers will worship the Father in spirit and truthfulness, for the Father also seeks such to worship Him. God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truthfulness.

John 6:63
It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh profits nothing; the words which I have spoken to you are spirit and are life.

John 14:16-18
And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Comforter, that He may be with you forever, Even the Spirit of reality, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not behold Him or know Him; but you know Him, because He abides with you and shall be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I am coming to you.

Romans 8:5
For those who are according to the flesh mind the things of the flesh; but those who are according to the spirit, the things of the Spirit.

Romans 8:9
But you are not in the flesh, but in the spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Yet if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not of Him.

Romans 8:11
And if the Spirit of the One who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who indwells you.

Romans 8:16
The Spirit Himself witnesses with our spirit that we are children of God.

1 Corinthians 2:11
For who among men knows the things of man, except the spirit of man which is in him? In the same way, the things of God also no one has known except the Spirit of God.

1 Corinthians 6:17-19
But he who is joined to the Lord is one spirit. Flee fornication. Every sin which a man may do is outside the body, but he who commits fornication sins against his own body. Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?

Galatians 4:6
And because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, Abba, Father!

Galatians 4:29
But just as at that time he who was born according to the flesh persecuted him who was born according to the Spirit, so also it is now.

Hebrews 10:15-17
And the Holy Spirit also testifies to us, for after having said, “This is the covenant which I will covenant with them after those days, says the Lord: I will impart My laws upon their hearts, and upon their mind I will inscribe them,” He then says, “And their sins and their lawlessnesses I shall by no means remember anymore.”

Leave a Reply

