• Christ and Church Life and Building Spirit and Bride

    基督與召會
    生命與建造
    那靈與新婦



    As a lover of Christ and a pursuer of truth, I write down my joys, memories and reflections.

    May God lead us all into the secret of His presence, and build us into the oneness of His body in love.
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recently Viewed

  • Recent Posts

Peter’s prophecy in Acts 2

Peter’s prophecy synthesized 3 paragraphs in the Old Testament: He referred or spoke of the pouring out of the Holy Spirit in Joel chapter 2, the resurrection of the Lord Jesus in Psalms 16, and His ascension in Psalms 110.

Praise the Lord that death could not hold Him! He has resurrected; After resurrection, He didn’t remain on the earth but ascended to be with the Father in the heaven, sitting at the Father’s right hand until the enemies as a footstool for His feet. As a result of His ascension, the Holy Spirit was poured out. Today, the Father had raised and glorified Him, and the Holy Spirit had been poured out. Amen.

2:14-16 But Peter, standing with the eleven, lifted up his voice and spoke forth to them: Men of Judea, and all who are dwelling in Jerusalem, let this be known to you, and give ear to my words. For these men are not drunk, as you suppose, for it is the third hour of the day; But this is what is spoken through the prophet Joel:

2:17-21 “And it shall be in the last days, says God, that I will pour out of My Spirit upon all flesh, and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream things in dreams; And indeed upon My slaves, both men and women, I will pour out of My Spirit in those days, and they shall prophesy. And I will show wonders in heaven above and signs on the earth below, blood and fire and vapor of smoke. The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and notable day of the Lord comes. And it shall be that everyone who calls on the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

Concerning the pouring out of the Holy Spirit

Joel 2:28-32
And afterward I will pour out My Spirit upon all flesh, And your sons and your daughters shall prophesy; Your old men shall dream dreams; Your young men shall see visions. Indeed even upon the male and female slaves In those days I will pour out My Spirit. And I will show wonders in the heavens and on earth: Blood and fire and pillars of smoke. The sun shall be turned into darkness, And the moon, into blood, Before the great and terrible Day of Jehovah comes. And everyone who calls on the name of Jehovah shall be saved; For in Mount Zion and in Jerusalem will be an escape, As Jehovah has said, Even for the remnant Whom Jehovah calls.

2:22-24 Men of Israel, hear these words: Jesus the Nazarene, a man shown by God to you to be approved by works of power and wonders and signs, which God did through Him in your midst, even as you yourselves know — This man, delivered up by the determined counsel and foreknowledge of God, you, through the hand of lawless men, nailed to a cross and killed; Whom God has raised up, having loosed the pangs of death, since it was not possible for Him to be held by it.

2:25-28 For David says regarding Him, “I saw the Lord continually before me, because He is on my right hand, that I may not be shaken. Therefore my heart was made glad and my tongue exulted; moreover, also my flesh will rest in hope, Because You will not abandon my soul to Hades, nor will You permit Your Holy One to see corruption. You have made known to me the ways of life; You will make me full of gladness with Your presence.”

2:29-33 Men, brothers, I can say to you plainly concerning the patriarch David that he both deceased and was buried, and his tomb is among us until this day. Therefore, being a prophet and knowing that God had sworn with an oath to him to seat One from the fruit of his loins upon his throne, He, seeing this beforehand, spoke concerning the resurrection of the Christ, that neither was He abandoned to Hades, nor did His flesh see corruption. This Jesus God has raised up, of which we all are witnesses. Therefore having been exalted to the right hand of God and having received the promise of the Holy Spirit from the Father, He has poured out this which you both see and hear.

Concerning the resurrection of the Lord Jesus

Psalms 16:8-11
I have set Jehovah before me continually; Because He is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart rejoices and my glory exults; Even my flesh dwells securely. For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol, Nor let Your Holy One see the pit. You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand there are pleasures forever.

2:34-35 For David did not ascend into the heavens, but he himself says, “The Lord said to my Lord, Sit at My right hand Until I set Your enemies as a footstool for Your feet.”

Concerning the ascension of the Lord Jesus

Psalms 110:1-2
Jehovah declares to my Lord, Sit at My right hand Until I make Your enemies Your footstool. Jehovah will send forth The scepter of Your strength from Zion: Rule in the midst of Your enemies.

2:36 Therefore let all the house of Israel know assuredly that God has made Him both Lord and Christ, this Jesus whom you have crucified.

Edited on Caltrain southbound 2010/3/5

Leave a Reply

